Move your data to a new User or a new Mavericks partition

Testing in a new User will quickly tell you if the problem is system wide or if it’s your User’s folder that contains the problem. more info

If the problem is your current User and you are unable to locate the source in your old User, you can use these steps to move to the new User.

If you continue to see the same problems in a new User, this indicates problems at the base level. See Below for instructions.

Transferring files from one account to another on the same Mac

You can move to the other User via the Shared folder.

shared

Create a folder in shared for Desktop. I like to use folders I create not the root folders in Users. Drag items from Desktop into the “desktop” folder you created. If you drag the root folder it can give you permissions issues when you copy into the new User.

shared.

Drag items from Desktop into the “desktop” folder you created. I like to do one folder at a time.

  • Log out of the current account under the Apple in the Menu bar or use Fast User Switching.
  • Log into new User.

Add Shared folder to Toolbar in the new User for easy access. Hold Option key when dragging an icon to the Toolbar in Mavericks to add.

shared..

Drag items from Shared folder “desktop” (it actually copies) to the Desktop.

Log back into the original User.

Delete the files from Shared desktop folder you copied over to the new User. If you are low on disc space be careful since the process copies data. Move one item at a time then delete the original before starting the next copy.

Continue doing this for Documents, Music, Movies, Pictures etc.

The User’s Library folder is one you need to be very careful in what you bring over. Most likely the issue is in your User’s Library. Mail and most of the items in Application Support are safe to bring over. Bring over the Safari and Calendar folders only if you are not syncing via iCloud. Keychain can be brought over but best to start fresh. Keychain tends to keep a lot of old entries and starting fresh eliminates all the crud that has accumulated.

Remove old User after you have all data copied to the new User. Go to System Preferences > User’s & Groups. Select the account and click on the – to remove. You might want to leave the original User with the User’s Library in case there is something you really need but did not move over.

Transferring files when data is another drive or partition

This assumes you have either cloned your drive or backed up your data and have installed Mavericks on a new drive and need to move your data over to the new install. While Migration is an easy step it can bring over old files you do not want.

First make sure the User’s Library folder is made visible before switching to the new User.

Instead of using the Shared folder as described above, this time we will setup two Finder windows to transfer the data. Set one window for the new Mavericks User. Set the second window to show the User’s folder on the other drive. Drag your data from the old folders to the new Mavericks folders.

To make a Finder Window, select File > New Window

newfinderwindow

To view the other drive open Finder > Preferences > Sidebar > Devices

finder_prefs

 

Check to show Your Computer and Your Hard disks.

finder_prefs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.